Addressing the White Elephant That is in the Room (Trigger)

talk-about-the-white-elephant-in-the-room

I have been waiting until I could get to a place to talk about this, yet I wanted to talk about it while it was still a topic of discussion (even though, if you are like me, you are growing weary of it).

As we all know, Robin Williams passed away a few days ago due to suicide. Apparently, he was suffering from a bad depressive [episode] and first tried to slit his wrists, and when that didn’t work, he hanged himself.

I was devastated when I heard the news. My heart ached, I understood the pain he was in, I felt horrible for his family, and I felt horrible for his assistant who is the one who found him dead.

I have hoped this would bring some awareness about Bipolar Disorder. But no one is addressing that elephant in the room. They are only screaming about suicide and depression. No one wants to acknowledge that this man suffered from Bipolar Disorder. They are focusing on the depression. And I find that irritating.

I should be content that at least people are being educated about suicide and depression. I should be content that his death was not in vain, as it has brought a lot of awareness. But, I’m not. As per the usual, BPD is being swept under the rug. No one wants to associate him with this elephant in the room. And, I don’t know how to get over that. I don’t know how to handle it.

Even with articles being posted of an interview with him in BP Hope, no one gets it. I am assuming no one knows. It is not common knowledge. I think it is just known in our own circle, and by therapists.

Mr. Williams was someone I looked up to as a BP figure. He managed to keep fighting. He managed to hide behind his laughter, as many of us do. He was able to mask the demons, and no one was of the wiser.

I genuinely hope some good is manifested from this horrible loss. I hope it is just not a lime-light situation and that talking about depression and suicide, and wanting to learn about it, or people sharing their stories doesn’t stop. I hope it continues. Because at least one invisible mental illness can be understood, or at least try to be understood, or people begin to have some compassion.

I guess we just get to keep sitting in the room with the elephant, and wait for our turn for compassion, understanding, and awareness.

Leave a Reply

