Message Board Thoughts

I’ve been thinking about starting a message board again. I was an admin for a bipolar board many years ago, that is now gone. It was a good place, and I still keep in contact with the regular members.

The pact I have with the original owner, was once she got her shit together (she has gone through a bunch of personal things in the last few years) we would start up another board together. I just don’t know if I can wait that long. 🙂

I joined a board a couple weeks ago, and I’m not sure I “fit” well. There are a lot of restrictions there. You can’t curse, you can’t talk about suicide, and your posts get edited by the admin. I don’t feel that is “real” enough for me. Cursing is a way of getting your point across, sometimes the only way to describe how you are feeling is by using curse words. Suicide is part of the territory. Yes, I realize it is a trigger for some, but others need to talk about it, talk about if they are feeling that way in order to get help! As long as there is a “trigger warning” in the subject line, I feel there is no problem with it. It NEEDS to be discussed. And editing posts is just like editing one’s speech. Why stifle someone? Of course if it is truly offensive, uncalled for, or inappropriate, then edit it by all means, or even delete it, and send a note to the poster explaining why you took those actions.

I had a post removed from the new place a joined. No explanation as of why. Apparently I crossed a line? I dunno. But it’s their place, so if they felt the need to do it, then so be it. I’m not going to pitch a bitch about it.

So, I’m thinking about starting up a message board. I’ll keep you posted if I do.

Leave a Reply

