My Furry Support System

I have animals. And in relation to the size of our house, we have a lot of them. I wanted to take some time today to give them some recognition, and also talk about the importance of pets when you have an illness.

No matter what kind of animal you may have or want, they offer great support. They provide you with unconditional love and depend on you! Even though sometimes we don’t want to deal with responsibility, this really helps us. I think it validates our importance in this existence, no matter how crappy (or good) we may feel it is. They also offer a great abundance of love, and seem to have a real knack at being able to tell when we really need a little extra snuggle or nudge when we are feeling our worst.

There have been studies on this, and there are even animals that can be obtained for therapy. Not just dogs and cats, but even things as large as horses and sea worthy as dolphins!

If you can afford it, and if you feel you could use a little extra love/companionship in your life, I urge you to get an animal. It doesn’t have to be a furry thing. People really like reptiles and arachnids as well! Whatever your thing is, embrace it, and get yourself a new “roomie”, I promise it will change your life!

Let me introduce you to my menagerie:

39090_413902301791_3714508_n

This is Harmony. IT is a white dove that I received as a birthday gift from my best friend many years ago. I call it a “her” usually, but the truth of the matter is, we don’t know Harmony’s sex. Harmony laughs and coos and really provides me with a sense of calmness. However, she is a very messy eater! This is a Dove trait. She currently resides in my bedroom perched beside Bella’s cage.

12310641_10153046788826792_8531884496182077884_n

This is Bella. She is a Boxer/Lab mix. I also got her from my best friend. Bella used to belong to my best friend’s sister, but she had to get rid of her due to her strength. Anna wasn’t able to take care of her and walk her as much because she has some health issues that prevent her from doing as such, so she gave her to her sister, Carla. Carla had an over abundance of animals in her house, and had to get rid of Bella. She was on the verge of taking her to the pound when I decided Bella needed to come home with me. She has been a wonderful addition to our family. She is an excellent guard dog, wonderful friend, and loves to cuddle and be petted. She is my “go-to” when I’m having a rough day (mentally or physically). She always makes me feel better.

156113_10150811979276792_1262445251_n

This is Trinity. She got her name for her three spots that are positioned like a triangle on her rump. I have had her since she was a baby. I even watched her come into this world. I also got her from my best friend. Trinity is more my oldest son’s dog now. You can always find her huddled under a blankie keeping warm. She is a Rat Terrier. I used to own her dad, Toby. He was my dude! But he passed away in our back yard shortly after we obtained him. 😦

11224118_10152999051181792_3715814578092523740_n

This is Shadow. She was a stray that we took in. She just showed up in our garage one summer day, and never left. So, we got her fixed and immunized and welcomed her into our home. The cats technically belong to my husband. But Shadow is my kitteh. As a tortie, she loves to purr and cuddle and rub all over you. This is especially helpful when I am sad.

965200_10151395562116792_1633424621_o

Last but not least, this is Pixel. We obtained her through an adoption program that was going on locally several years ago. She is FAT and LAZY, but so much fun! We got her because she reminded us of our old cat Nicodemus, that passed away from kidney failure. This is my husband’s cat for sure. She snuggles with him all the time, and sleeps in-between his legs every night.

5 thoughts on “My Furry Support System”

  1. I love this post! I have 3 kitties of my own, plus two kitties who I let in to eat and sleep sometimes, and feed two more who dwell on my porch. Animals are life saving. Without mine, I don’t know that I would have survived my darkest days. Don’t tell the others, but Bella is the cutest! 🙂

  2. Furry friends are the best. I had a ginger boy named George. He would be nowhere to be seen, but if I was crying he’d appear from nowhere and curl up on my lap and lip my hand. He was such a comfort

Leave a Reply

