Abilify Lawsuits

Now, let me preface this post with saying, I’m not trying to scare anyone. If anything, it is the total opposite. While anything is possible, I feel this lawsuit is a bit unfounded and not enough research went into it. Some people are not “in the know” when it comes to their diagnosis. Here is an example of the lawsuit. This one is not as explanatory as some that I have seen.

If you don’t want to click on the link, I will explain. Essentially, people are claiming that they have started compulsory gambling after being on Abilify. And in this particular ad, they are including binge eating and hypersexual behavior.

As most of us know, Abilify is an antipsychotic, and is used to treat/ keep at bay, mania and/or erratic behavior.

Also, MOST of us know, mania or erratic behavior can pop up at ANY TIME, in various forms. Sometimes you can do things you have never had a history of doing. It is the nature of the beast.

Now, I’m not sure how large this lawsuit is, I just know they are trying to wrangle people in.

Do I agree with the lawsuit? Um… No.

I have been on Abilify before, for a number of years actually. Did I personally find it effective? To a point. In my opinion it is a “light” antispychotic. I was on 10 or 15 mg, and then I got reduced to 5 because I was experiencing Akathesia because I was also on a high dose of Seroquel. Too much antipsychotic can = Akathesia.

I think this is a bogus law suit. Not just because I didn’t have any problems with the drug, but their claims are things that come with the territory. Gambling (taking risks), hypersexuality, binge eating (some antispychotics make you SUPER HUNGRY! Seroquel did that for me, but that is a story for another time). Now, I’m no doctor, but it seems to me, that if your patient is experiencing these things, you either a) increase their dose or b) take them off of it and replace it with something else.

I think this is simply an attack on the drug for financial gain. Is it possible this lawsuit has some truth behind it? Sure, anything is possible. But I think this is a jump the gun kind of thing.

2 thoughts on “Abilify Lawsuits”

  1. dunno what to say except that the news from the FDA that abilify causes all these impulse control issues brought me relief cos now I can explain a lot of my strange behavior the past few months…

Leave a Reply

