Time Change = Sleep Change

I hate Spring, for a number of reasons. For one, it means that Summer is coming. All the bugs start coming out, especially the stinging kind, which makes me terrified to go outside. It means Winter is over and I have to clean up the yards, including all the doggie-doo. It means the days are longer; well at least it takes longer for the sun to go down. And THAT means, my sleep is screwed.

Now is definitely the time of year that you need to leave me alone if I am asleep. Because if you wake me up, I for sure will have a hard time getting back to sleep. It is so much worse in the Spring/Summer for me. It has always been a general rule in my house; If I am asleep, leave me alone or you WILL feel the wrath. Well apparently the hubby forgot about that rule last night.

He came to bed a little before 1 a.m., and in the process woke me up. He was snuggling to me which made me hot, he was groping me because he had too much to drink (2 glasses of whiskey and a half a bottle of a LARGE bottle of wine). I got up to refill my water-bottle, since I had drunk it all. Thankfully by the time I got back to bed, he was passed out, but snoring… Which made it difficult for me to get back to sleep. I eventually did, but it was rough. And then, as per the usual, I woke up every hour or so.

I see my doc on Tuesday. And we will be talking about the sleep study and my sleeping pills. And I will do my best not to go off and get kicked out of the clinic, but I make no promises. I need to make sure they hurry up and call my Rx’s in and make sure that they RETURN THE PHONE CALL that the pharmacy will make (I’m still waiting on my meds from my GP that were called in 2 weeks ago….) I have 6 sleeping pills left. I was talking to my mom about it, and she said “I’m sure you will be ok, maybe you don’t even need them.” This is her being supportive. I joke and tell her maybe this will be the week that I go off my sleeping pills and “re-set” my internal clock, like my doc suggests I do. And then she said “I suppose you are going to be without your sleeping pills while your dad is in the hospital?” I tell her yes, to which she replies “Fuck!”
There ya go, NOW you are feeling my pain!

My dad goes in for bypass surgery sometime next week. He finds out the exact date on Thursday. Combine the fucked up sleep schedule from the time change, and the stress I am going to be going though because of my dad’s surgery, and you have one. hot. mess.

I’ll get through it. It won’t be pretty, but I will get through it.

Leave a Reply

