I Did It!

Well, I managed to drive that stinking interstate to and from my parents house. I feel so accomplished! I will admit, on the way home I had intrusive thoughts and I spent the whole hour on the road trying to shut them up and ignoring them. I think the key for me was getting the timing down right and driving when there wasn’t much traffic. I still had to contend with semi-trucks, but not as bad as if there was more traffic.

I accomplished getting some stuff done at my parent’s house. As much as I could do with my mom not there. It is difficult to clean someone’s house when they are not there to tell you if things can be thrown away or not. The big thing was that I cleaned off her dining room table. You can see a table now, and she was super happy about that.

It was hard to see my mom so exhausted. I tried my best to be there for her and let her know that I noticed she was exhausted and that it was ok to be exhausted, and gently reminded her she needed rest and food and time for herself. She felt so guilty about not being with my dad when she was not with him. I couldn’t even imagine.

I slept like shit. I am going to blame the weather. It has been gorgeous out. Today it is supposed to get up to 80. I have so many things I want to do this week! But first and foremost, I gotta get my grades done for Sunday School. Those are due this coming weekend.

I hope you all had a great weekend. I will be spending this week playing catch-up.

2 thoughts on “I Did It!”

  1. This is a feel good post. Great job on navigating the highways. I wasn’t allowed to drive for 10 years (because of frequent seizures) so it was scary when I first got my license back.

    I think it’s wonderful how much you are doing for your parents. Not sure if you know, but in this day and age that’s too rare.

    Have a great week.

  2. Well done on navigating the highways. I am also nervous of driving so can appreciate the courage it took. And you are just brilliant for sacrificing the comfort of the familiar to help your folks out.

Leave a Reply

