I Learn Something New Everyday

I applied for a job at our local Credit Union/Bank, to work at their customer service call center. Upon filling out my application (on-line), they had a part asking if you had a disability. Now I am NOT disabled, but I clicked on the link to see what they considered a “disability”. Much to my surprise, they had the following listed: Bipolar Disorder, OCD, and PTSD.

That was the strangest thing I had ever seen. They had other things listed too, but I had never seen these things listed as a “disability” before.

Of course, I checked the box. I didn’t specify WHAT my disability was, but according to their listings, I certainly fit into that category.

This could either help or hinder me getting a job. At this point, I’m not even stressing anymore.

I guess this is some federal thing. I had never heard of it before, and I’ve never really considered myself as having a disability since I don’t qualify to receive disability benefits.

3 thoughts on “I Learn Something New Everyday”

  1. I’ve done a lot of H.R. work in my day and I’ve never seen those listed. In fact, it’s always been my understanding that they can’t ask that question at all. Most companies have “Is there a disability which may affect your ability to do the job” (or something like that.)

  2. Yep, bipolar is even a registered disability in South Africa. Good for you ticking the box. Here, they’re not supposed to discriminate against a disability. I’m open about my bipolar at work – they use my status as a tax deduction, and in turn they have to ‘work with me’ as far as the job is concerned. That’s the principal anyway. But COOL you might be getting a job – exciting stuff 🙂

Leave a Reply

