Solitude

I’m trying my hand at a writing prompt from The Daily Post. This prompt is Solitude.

Being in solitude can be refreshing, invigorating, and even healing. However, most of the time, for me, solitude leads to anxiety and then depression. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE my alone time. And I think having my daily solitude daily when the kids are at school and my husband is at work is a blessing. I can just relax, in peace and quiet. And if I get to the point where my mind starts to wander and I begin thinking too much, I can get up and do something around the house.

My most favorite form of solitude, is on the beach, at dusk. There is nothing more soothing to my soul, listening to the ebb and flow of the tide on the shore. The crashing of the waves. The piercing shrill of the seagulls flying through the air. The wind blowing through the sea-grass on the dunes. THAT my friends, is my favorite form of solitude. Just thinking about that, and describing it, took me there and gave me inner peace for a brief moment.

Sadly, I am landlocked now. I only get to the beach when we go on vacation. I missed last years vacation and it is possible I will miss this years vacation if I interview well for this job on Monday. But I have memories of when I lived in California. And I have memories of living in Maine. And I have my memories of vacations in North Carolina. I feel blessed to know that kind of solitude.

1 thought on “Solitude”

  1. I grew up in North Carolina, but the beach is somewhere you went to. Now that I live in the Los Angeles South Bay I have a whole new perspective of being at the beach. I can sit for hours in solitude watching the pelicans glide across the water.

    I believe I understand how you feel because eventually I’ll have to move away and I’ll miss my morning beach walks dearly. I hope you get the job AND get to go on vacation.

Leave a Reply

