Being Invisible Isn’t So Bad

The other day, a friend of mine posted on facebook about feeling invisible. I totally relate to this, and wanted to expand upon that.

Thinking about it, feeling invisible really started for me at an early age. I think because maybe I am unremarkable. And I’m not saying that in a bad way. I am just calling it what it is. I’m average. There has never been remarkable about my appearance. And we all know that we begin processing things at the moment of sight.

In 5th grade, I hung out with the popular crowd. At the end of the year, I invited everyone in my clique to my birthday party. No one showed up. I was crushed. That was the first time I felt invisible. Incidentally, this is why we don’t do birthday parties at my house. I have had children for collectively 22 years, and I have had 2 birthday parties within that time.

When 6th grade started, it was like no one I hang out with the previous year even remembered who I was. I must be invisible.

This scenario played out throughout my years in school.

Fast forward to my adult life, and it never got any better really.

There have been times where I swear I must have had a spell placed over me that made me invisible for the day. Even driving around, other drivers don’t notice me. Being in crowds, I am invisible, no one notices me, even when I am with someone. No one remembers my name. No one remembers meeting me.

I am unremarkable.

I have finally come to peace with that. Even though I am unremarkable on the outside, I know I am remarkable on the inside. And people who are in my life know this, otherwise they wouldn’t stick around, right? 🙂

At times feeling invisible is really annoying. Other times, it is a blessing. If you ever feel this way, remember that you are not alone. Other people experience this feeling to. And while it can be depressing at times, you need to realize this is just the universe’s way of weeding out the crap for you. If people are not interested in knowing who we are, then we don’t need them in our lives.

2 thoughts on “Being Invisible Isn’t So Bad”

  1. I like to tell people that even my imaginary friend left me to play with the cool kids. The reality is that I hated recess. There was never a time that I felt more invisible than that.

Leave a Reply

