Gobble, gobble, ho, ho!

The holidays are coming! The stress is already getting to me and I know for many people out there, especially those with mental illness, have a difficult time during the holidays.

Some of us can’t handle the stress. Some can’t handle the traveling. Some can’t handle family get togethers. And sometimes the holiday season can be a trigger.

Since there is time, I am hoping we can all be pro-active and reach into our bag of tricks and become prepared for what this season is going to bring. If that means talking to your doc to up some meds, or perhaps scheduling extra therapy sessions, so be it. If that means finding some new (or old) relaxation techniques and start getting into the habit of using them. Or even blog more if that is what you do to blow off steam.

The holidays don’t have to be overly hectic or stressful. Some stress is expected, but I think some of us get consumed by the stress and that is just a bad mix for us. I’m guilty of this. But I am going to take some of my own advice and get busy on releasing the stress/anxiety so I enjoy my holidays.

This year we are having Thanksgiving at my parent’s house because this is the first year in a while that my sister and her family want to participate with us. I usually hold Thanksgiving at my house, because my parents just usually come over, but this year is different. That means I am going to have to take my emergency anxiety med since we will be traveling.

In regards to Christmas, we usually have Christmas on Christmas Day. This year we will be exchanging gifts on the 24 after church, since my oldest daughter has to work on Christmas Day (She works for a security system company — crime doesn’t take a day off!). This means we will be doing Christmas twice; once on Christmas Eve and once on Christmas Day, when my parents are able to come out. My parents live a little over an hour away from me, and being that they are older, they can’t see so well to drive at night. Heck I’m only in my 40’s and I have horrible night blindness! My in-laws will also be here for the holidays. I only plan on cooking one holiday meal. But two days of celebration and house guests is going to make me tired and anxious. So I am going to have to implement some things to get through this busy time. I won’t even discuss the shopping. There is no preparing for that! Nothing but a good stiff drink when you get home from the shopping madness! Unless you shop on-line, which is what I try to do.

I hope you all can find some relaxing time during the holidays. I hope you don’t let everything stress you out. And just remember, if you start feeling down, anxious, stressed, or triggered, reach out and blog or talk to someone. Sometimes just getting it out helps immensely.

I wish you all luck! And remember, be kind to yourselves.

1 thought on “Gobble, gobble, ho, ho!”

  1. Have to admit, looking forward to Thanksgiving. That is when my son and I go hunting and we get away from it all for a few peaceful days.

Leave a Reply

