First Level of Hell (aka Pulling up your panties)

A little back story…

Sunday I woke up with a swollen jaw. It was reminiscent of when I had my wisdom teeth pulled. Same side that gave me problems (right side). Of course this happens on a weekend. So this morning I contacted my new dentist to get my jaw checked out, thinking this is some sort of infection. They apparently felt as though it was an emergency, because they got me in right away this morning.

(hang with me, I’m getting to a point)

Dr. Maistro examined me and I explained I had my wisdom teeth pulled out and I was wondering if this was related. Then he explains to me that sometimes after a surgery like that, there can be an infection in-between the bone and the gum. Not uncommon, and this is probably the case. However, he wanted me to get into Dr. Pettit today so he could check it out and make sure this was the case, since he is the one that did the surgery. (I’m getting to the point… almost there) Dr. Maistro’s office called Dr. Pettit’s office to make sure I got in TODAY. Unfortunately, their office in my location is only open two days a week. Today was not one of them. So I would have to go to their Springfield office, which is about 1/2 hour from my city.

Panic set in. (here is the important part of the story) I would have to DRIVE MYSELF…. TO SOMEWHERE I HAD NEVER BEEN TO BEFORE… ON THE HIGHWAY!

It was time for me to pull up my big girl panties. I had to buck up, buttercup. I had to face the music and take care of the task at hand. There was no way around it. I had to drive myself, even though I had no idea where I was going. I had just enough time to come home, grab my Garmin, and go to Springfield.

I am proud of myself. I did it. I faced my fear. I took the back roads there, and did an illegal u-turn, but I did it. On the way home I took the highway, sandwiched in-between several semi-trucks (a HUGE fear of mine). But I did it. I didn’t have time to have much panic about it. I had to go NOW. I know I had a look of panic on my face, because the dental assistant told me “Honey, everything is going to be ok. I promise. Are you going to be alright?”

I believe that the Buspar I take for my anxiety had some part in my being able to tackle my fear. I didn’t have the shakes or the sweats nor did I clench my teeth while driving.

Just goes to show, sometimes you can overcome your fears, even if it is just for one time.

1 thought on “First Level of Hell (aka Pulling up your panties)”

Leave a Reply

