Habits

I read somewhere recently, that people with Bipolar are creatures of habit. And often, their habits are often confused as addictions. I wish I could remember where I read this, because it was interesting.

It got me thinking. I don’t really have any addictions. I just don’t have an addictive personality, never have. Habits however is a whole different story. My smoking is not an addiction, it is a habit. I don’t crave cigarettes, but I habitually start my day with one, because it is my routine. This is just one example.

And it seems like most of my habits are destructive. Like overeating, which has been a problem as of late. Laying on the couch and watching tv — totally not good for me.

==================================================

wake up at 6 am

grab a cup of coffee

go out back and have a smoke

come in and empty dishwasher from the previous night and put in any dishes that may have accrued during the morning.

Get the kids out the door

Watch tv (the same shows every day – Live with Kelly, Dr. Phil, and then my paranormal shows on Destination America.) until 2.

Have coffee with the big boy

find something to do with my time until it is time to make dinner.

Make dinner. Eat. Go over homework. Watch some more tv. Go to bed.

====================================================

That is my “routine”. This is what I do Every fucking.day. Unless I have a job assignment, then that just cuts out my afternoon tv time. But how much of this routine is habit? I think all of it is. And I don’t like it. So maybe I will try to make some adjustments.

4 thoughts on “Habits”

  1. I have no routine. I wake up and go to bed whenever I feel like. I’m addicted cigarettes and the internet. I don’t watch much TV, only a few show per week. I do things if and when I feel like it. I don’t take naps every day, only when I’m tired. So, I don’t think we all have structure.

  2. Sometimes my wife finds comfort in her routine/habits. Some are productive some are not but many things in life are like that.

Leave a Reply

