Happy Anniversary

Today is my husbands and my 16th anniversary. The above picture is from the day we got married. We got married on his lunch break in the courthouse. In attendance were his mother, his sister, our son and my daughter. After the ceremony we went to Olive Garden, and then he went back to work. We have never had a honeymoon. We have never gone anywhere special just the two of us. This is how our marriage is. We take care of business and put ourselves last. I hope one day that changes. Several years later we did have our reconciliation in the Church. That is just fancy talk that our marriage was blessed in the Catholic Church. Both of our families were in attendance for that.

I know I complain about my husband a lot. But I really do love him, and I really am blessed that he has chosen to stand by his marriage vows to me. Especially ‘for richer or poorer and in sickness and in health”. It is difficult being married to someone with bipolar disorder. I know I have put him through hell. And yet he sticks around. I think that attests to his love an commitment to me. That makes me feel special and blessed.

As per the usual, we are not doing anything special for our “special day”. Especially since my truck is in the shop and we haven’t heard back from them yet about what is wrong with it or how much it is going to cost. I am used to it. It is just the way it is.

Leave a Reply

