My first experience with crisis chat

I bit the bullet today and took part in a crisis chat (in the US http://www.crisischat.org/  )

This was the first time I have ever done this. I only chatted for about 5 minutes, but it did feel nice to have someone understand, listen, and be supportive without trying to fix me or give me “helpful” ideas on how to feel better.

All you do is fill out a brief form asking for your name or alias, your zip code, and what you are having problems with (they give you a selection of things to choose from) then you are connected with a crisis counselor and chat. It is very simple, and as I am not in the mood to really talk today, it was perfect.

All in all it was a positive experience, and I recommend it to anyone out there that is going through a rough time. This particular chat was affiliated with the National Suicide Hotline. You don’t have to be suicidal to reach out.

2 thoughts on “My first experience with crisis chat”

Leave a Reply

